Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Sat, Dec 5, 2020
7:30pm

CINEMATHEQUE VIRTUAL SCREENINGS
GLEN KEANE – AN AMERICAN CINEMATHEQUE TRIBUTE with Virtual Conversation
THIS EVENT IS ONLINE ONLY

On the occasion of his new film OVER THE MOON, animator Glen Keane joins us for a career-spanning conversation. RSVP here for the online discussion.

A 38-year veteran of Walt Disney Feature Animation, Glen Keane trained under Walt Disney’s Nine Old Men. Keane went on to create many beloved Disney characters such as The Little Mermaid, Aladdin, The Beast, Tarzan, and Rapunzel. In 2012, Keane departed Disney to begin Glen Keane Productions as a way to further his artistic explorations in animation, design, and film. He has since gone on to collaborate with Google, the Paris Ballet, and Kobe Bryant. His most recent project is the Academy Award-winning animated film Dear Basketball, which he animated and directed in collaboration with legends Kobe Bryant and John Williams. Most recently, he directed the animated feature OVER THE MOON, now available on Netflix.

OVER THE MOON, 2020, Netflix, 95 min, China/USA, Dir: Glen Keane, John Kahrs. Fueled with determination and a passion for science, a bright young girl builds a rocket ship to the moon to prove the existence of a legendary Moon Goddess. There she ends up on an unexpected quest and discovers a whimsical land of fantastical creatures. Directed by animation legend Glen Keane and produced by Gennie Rim and Peilin Chou, OVER THE MOON is an exhilarating musical adventure about moving forward, embracing the unexpected and the power of imagination. The film stars Cathy Ang, Phillipa Soo, Ken Jeong, John Cho, Ruthie Ann Miles, Sandra Oh, Robert G. Chiu, Margaret Cho and Kimiko Glenn.

Virtual retrospective conversation with Glen Keane, moderated by filmmaker & animator Sergio Pablos, at 7:30 PM PT on Saturday, December 5th.
To view the online discussion, you will need to have the Zoom video application installed on your computer beforehand. It can be downloaded at https://zoom.us/ You will receive a Zoom link the day of the online discussion. If you have any issue connecting to our Q&A, please email virtual@americancinematheque.com and we will do our best to assist you.
Aero Theatre • Sat, Dec 5, 2020 • 7:30pm

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Fri, May 8, 2020 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, May 9, 2020 - 7:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Jun 5, 2020 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Jun 12, 2020 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Jun 19, 2020 - 7:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Jun 20, 2020 - 5:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Jun 21, 2020 - 5:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Jun 26, 2020 - 4:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Co-Presented by Cinematic Void!
Fri, Jun 26, 2020 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Mon, Jun 29, 2020 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Jul 11, 2020 - 5:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Jul 12, 2020 - 12:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Jul 18, 2020 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Jul 24, 2020 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Mon, Aug 17, 2020 - 6:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Aug 23, 2020 - 11:00am
Egyptian Theatre
Mon, Aug 24, 2020 - 7:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Tue, Aug 25, 2020 - 7:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Aug 26, 2020 - 7:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Sep 12, 2020 - 5:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Mon, Sep 28, 2020 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Oct 17, 2020 - 5:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Dec 12, 2020 - 10:00am
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Dec 19, 2020 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Fri, May 8, 2020 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, May 9, 2020 - 7:00pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Jun 5, 2020 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Jun 12, 2020 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Jun 19, 2020 - 7:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Jun 21, 2020 - 5:00pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Jun 26, 2020 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Co-Presented by Cinematic Void!
Fri, Jun 26, 2020 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Mon, Jun 29, 2020 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Jul 11, 2020 - 5:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Jul 12, 2020 - 12:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Jul 18, 2020 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Jul 24, 2020 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Mon, Aug 17, 2020 - 6:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Aug 23, 2020 - 11:00am
Aero Theatre
Mon, Aug 24, 2020 - 7:00pm
Aero Theatre
Tue, Aug 25, 2020 - 7:00pm
Aero Theatre
Wed, Aug 26, 2020 - 7:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Sep 12, 2020 - 5:00pm
Aero Theatre
Mon, Sep 28, 2020 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Oct 17, 2020 - 5:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Dec 12, 2020 - 10:00am
Aero Theatre
Sat, Dec 19, 2020 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre