Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Sun, Jun 10, 2012
5:00pm

007 AT 50: THE COMPLETE JAMES BOND RETROSPECTIVE!
Double Feature!
YOU ONLY LIVE TWICE / ON HER MAJESTY’S SECRET SERVICE
Co-Presented by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts Los Angeles in celebration of their 25th Anniversary.
YOU ONLY LIVE TWICE
1967, MGM/Park Circus, 117 min, Dir: Lewis Gilbert

Director Lewis Gilbert directs the fifth movie starring Sean Connery as 007. To give Bond a headstart on the opposition, his death is faked. He’s then sent to Japan to honcho Tetsuro Tanba and operatives Mie Hama and Akiko Wakabayashi (two of Toho Studios’ most charismatic contract actresses of the era). With a script by Roald Dahl.


ON HER MAJESTY’S SECRET SERVICE
1969, Park Circus/MGM, 140 min, UK, Dir: Peter Hunt

When Sean Connery decided to take a hiatus from the role of Bond, producers Albert Broccoli and Harry Saltzman turned to former male model George Lazenby to play Ian Fleming’s super-spy - and wound up with one of the most satisfying (and underrated) of the 1960s Bond films. Lovely Diana Rigg proves more than Bond’s match as the two team up to topple scar-faced Ernst Blofeld (Telly Savalas) in the Swiss Alps.


Screening formats: 35mm
Aero Theatre • Sun, Jun 10, 2012 • 5:00pm

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Book Signing with Bill Desowitz!
Fri, Jun 8, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Maud Adams In Person!
Fri, Jun 15, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Jun 23, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Paul Maibaum In Person!
Sat, Jun 9, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Gloria Hendry In Person!
Thu, Jun 14, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Jun 16, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Father's Day Bond! Diana Lee Hsu & Robert Davi In Person!
Sun, Jun 17, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Martin Campbell In Person!
Fri, Jun 22, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Martin Campbell In Person!
Sun, Jun 24, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre