Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Thu, Apr 7, 2011
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

NOIR CITY: HOLLYWOOD, 13TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
Felix Feist Double Feature!
THE THREAT / THIS WOMAN IS DANGEROUS
Presented in collaboration with The Film Noir Foundation
THE THREAT
1949, RKO [Warner Bros.], 66 min, USA, Dir: Felix Feist

Ruthless killer Red Kluger (Charles McGraw) escapes from prison, vowing vengeance on the cop and D.A. who sent him up. His kidnapping plot culminates in a Mojave hideout - call it “The Petrified Desert” - where the gang waits for a plane to take them to freedom. Director Felix Feist steers the action at a breakneck pace, turning the proceedings into a veritable highlight reel of malicious mayhem courtesy of McGraw, the ultimate noir tough guy. Not on DVD!


THIS WOMAN IS DANGEROUS
1952, Warner Bros., 100 min, USA, Dir: Felix Feist

Joan Crawford called this her “worst” film; we respectfully contend that Joan was a poor judge of her own work. In her last film for Warner Bros. (could that have something to do with her bitterness?), Crawford plays a hardened gangster going blind, who desperately needs an operation to save her sight. Essentially a sequel to Crawford’s great THE DAMNED DON’T CRY, director Feist brings punch and panache to Daniel Mainwaring’s melodramatic script. It’s Joan at her “Joaniest,” and few things are more enjoyable. “Every inch a lady…’til you look at the record!”


Screening formats: 35mm
Egyptian Theatre • Thu, Apr 7, 2011 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

New Prints!
Fri, Apr 1, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 2, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 3, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 6, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 8, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 9, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 10, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 13, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 14, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Actress Jeanne Cooper In Person!
Fri, Apr 15, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Peter Ford In Person!
Sat, Apr 16, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
New Prints!
Sun, Apr 17, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 20, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre