Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Fri, Apr 15, 2011
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

NOIR CITY: HOLLYWOOD, 13TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
William Castle Exposés! Double Feature! Actress Jeanne Cooper In Person!
THE HOUSTON STORY / NEW ORLEANS UNCENSORED
Presented in collaboration with The Film Noir Foundation

Director William Castle transports us to the Texas oil world and to the docks of the Big Easy in these two rare noirs not available on DVD. Actress Jeanne Cooper ("Madge" in THE HOUSTON STORY) will appear in person for a discussion.

Discussion between films with actress Jeanne Cooper (THE HOUSTON STORY).
THE HOUSTON STORY
1956, Columbia [Sony Repertory], 79 min, USA, Dir: William Castle

Gene Barry stars as an amoral and ambitious wildcatter who presents Midwest gangster Edward Arnold with a plan for siphoning off millions of dollars worth of Gulf oil and selling it at a huge profit on the black market. Will Barry survive to see the spoils of his pre-Enron scheme? Spicing things up is Barry’s affair with Arnold’s chanteuse moll, played by a platinum-tressed Barbara Hale, pre-“Perry Mason.” Director William Castle brings visual virtuosity to the cut-rate Sam Katzman production. Not on DVD!


NEW ORLEANS UNCENSORED
1955, Columbia [Sony Repertory], 76 min, USA, Dir: William Castle

William Castle takes his crew on location to the Big Easy for this entry in the 1950s exposé sweepstakes. Discharged Navy vet Arthur Franz (THE SNIPER) catches on as a longshoreman and quickly learns things on the docks are crooked as hell. When his buddy is killed in a suspicious accident, Franz decides to go undercover for the cops to take down local crime boss Michael Ansara. Of course, this means tussling as well with “Big Easies” Beverly Garland and Helene Stanton. “Filmed at White Heat… At the bottom of Desire Street!” Not on DVD!


Screening formats: 35mm
Egyptian Theatre • Fri, Apr 15, 2011 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

New Prints!
Fri, Apr 1, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 2, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 3, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 6, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 7, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 8, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 9, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 10, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 13, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 14, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Peter Ford In Person!
Sat, Apr 16, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
New Prints!
Sun, Apr 17, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 20, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre