We’re thrilled to announce a complete re-design of the American Cinematheque website. See The New Site Now >
Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Sat, Jul 28, 2012
7:30pm

IN SPECTACULAR DIGITAL CINEMA: CLASSICS AND RESTORATIONS ON THE BIG SCREEN
THE GODFATHER PART II

Please note, the screening of RAIDERS OF THE LOST ARK that was listed on this date in our print calendar has been canceled.

THE GODFATHER PART II
1974, Paramount, 200 min, USA, Dir: Francis Ford Coppola

Francis Ford Coppola expands upon and deepens the themes of THE GODFATHER with this ambitious sequel. The film follows mob chieftain Al Pacino as he ruthlessly consolidates power in the Las Vegas gambling world of the late 1950s, while simultaneously flashing back to father Robert De Niro’s brutal induction into the Mafia in 1900s Sicily and New York. Most of the cast returned from the first film, with superb help from Gaston Moschin, Leopoldo Trieste and Lee Strasberg as Jewish crime boss Hyman Roth. Coppola’s parallel structure allows him to compare and contrast two American eras and consider the political and cultural changes of the 20th century, an approach that makes THE GODFATHER PART II an epic work of art as well as one of the most entertaining crime movies ever made.


Screening format: DCP
Aero Theatre • Sat, Jul 28, 2012 • 7:30pm

Films in this Series at the Aero

Restored 170-Minute Version!
Thu, Jul 12, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Restored!
Fri, Jul 13, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Ann Rutherford Tribute
Sat, Jul 14, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Jul 15, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Thu, Jul 19, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Jul 20, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Montana Ave Artwalk!
Sat, Jul 21, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
75th Anniversary! Family Matinee! Montana Ave Artwalk!
Sun, Jul 22, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre
Montana Ave Artwalk!
Sun, Jul 22, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Thu, Jul 26, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Jul 27, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Canceled Screening
Sat, Jul 28, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Jul 29, 2012 - 5:00pm
Aero Theatre
Wed, Aug 1, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Thu, Aug 2, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Aug 3, 2012 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Aug 5, 2012 - 4:00pm
Aero Theatre