Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Sat, Aug 12, 2017
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

THE RETURN OF 70MM
THE DARK CRYSTAL
70mm!

THE DARK CRYSTAL
1982, Universal, 93 min, USA, Dir: Jim Henson, Frank Oz

Legendary Muppets creator Jim Henson was inspired by a Lewis Carroll poem to create his own fairy tale about Jen, the last surviving Gelfling, who is sent by his dying master on an epic quest to fulfill his destiny to heal the fractured Dark Crystal. After three years of brainstorming with a team that included renowned fantasy artist Brian Froud and screenwriter David Odell, Henson wove the ideas into a story that was fleshed out by Odell, and the task shifted to bringing those words and images to life in this charming film, which used then-state-of-the-art technology to create a groundbreaking alchemy of puppetry and electronics on a scale never before attempted.


Special Ticket Prices: $15 General, $13 Cinematheque Members. No vouchers.
Aero Theatre • Sat, Aug 12, 2017 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Aero

Thu, Aug 10, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Aug 11, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Aug 13, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Producer Mark Magidson In Person!
Thu, Aug 17, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Aug 18, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Aug 19, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Family Matinee!
Sun, Aug 20, 2017 - 2:00pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Aug 20, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Thu, Aug 31, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Sep 1, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, Sep 1, 2017 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre