Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Sun, Mar 30, 2014
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

NOIR CITY: HOLLYWOOD, 16TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
Audrey Totter Double Feature!
TENSION / ALIAS NICK BEAL
Presented by the American Cinematheque and the Film Noir Foundation
Introduction by Alan K. Rode of the Film Noir Foundation.
TENSION
1949, Warner Bros., 95 min, USA, Dir: John Berry

Vampy sexpot Audrey Totter is married to mild-mannered druggist Richard Basehart - but she sleeps with every “real man” she sees. So Basehart takes the noir way out - kill his wife’s lover and disappear into a new identity. But cops Barry Sullivan and William Conrad smell a rat. Then Audrey and Barry eye each other ... and the tension is stretched to the breaking point. John Berry’s expert direction steamrolls plot holes flat - and Audrey is a 100-proof hoot.


ALIAS NICK BEAL
1949, Universal, 93 min, USA, Dir: John Farrow

A true noir rarity! The Faust legend is played out as a supernatural noir thriller, with Ray Milland as the suave devil tempting ambitious DA Thomas Mitchell and fallen woman Audrey Totter in this dark and devious doppelgänger of Capra's IT’S A WONDERFUL LIFE.


Screening format: 35mm
Egyptian Theatre • Sun, Mar 30, 2014 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Opening Night!
Fri, Mar 21, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Mar 22, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Mar 23, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Mar 26, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Mar 27, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Mar 28, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Mar 29, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 2, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 3, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 4, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 5, 2014 - 7:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Newly Restored 35mm Prints! Discussion with Author Mary Ann Anderson!
Sun, Apr 6, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre