Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Wed, May 16, 2018
7:30pm

THE SEASON OF BERGMAN
Double Feature!
SMILES OF A SUMMER NIGHT / THE RITE
Presented in association with the Swedish Film Institute and the Ingmar Bergman Foundation.
35 mm!

SMILES OF A SUMMER NIGHT
SOMMARNATTENS LEENDE
1955, Janus Films, 108 min, Sweden, Dir: Ingmar Bergman

After 15 films that received mostly local acclaim, this classic film at last ushered in an international audience for Ingmar Bergman. In turn-of-the-century Sweden, four men and four women attempt to navigate the laws of attraction. During a weekend in the country, the women collude to force the men’s hands in matters of the heart, exposing their pretensions and insecurities along the way. Chock-full of flirtatious propositions and sharp witticisms delivered by such Swedish screen legends as Gunnar Björnstrand and Harriet Andersson, SMILES OF A SUMMER NIGHT is one of cinema’s great erotic comedies.


35 mm!

THE RITE
RITEN
1969, Janus Films, 72 min, Sweden, Dir: Ingmar Bergman

In one of Ingmar Bergman’s most stylized and political films, three traveling actors are accused of taking part in a performance deemed pornographic by the state’s authorities. Before an intractable judge, they are forced to defend themselves and their art, but their own personal flaws and scandals also are brought to the fore. Taking place in a shadowy bureaucratic netherworld, the film confronts artistic censorship while also investigating such Bergman-esque themes as sexual violence and the nature of performance.


Both films in Swedish with English subtitles.
Aero Theatre • Wed, May 16, 2018 • 7:30pm

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Fri, May 4, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, May 5, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, May 6, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, May 10, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, May 11, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, May 12, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Thu, May 17, 2018 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Fri, May 18, 2018 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, May 19, 2018 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, May 20, 2018 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre