Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Wed, Oct 19, 2011
7:30pm

The Best of Recent Belgian Cinema
OXYGEN
Presented by the Consulate General of Belgium in Los Angeles, in cooperation with Flanders Image and Wallonie Bruxelles Images, and with the support of E.L.M.A. (European Languages and Movies in America)

A Belgian beer reception for all ticket holders will follow the screening.

OXYGEN
ADEM
2010, Kinepolis Film Distribution (Belgian Distributor), 98 min, Belgium, Netherlands, Dir: Hans Van Nuffel

Tom (Stef Aerts) and his brother both have cystic fibrosis, a degenerative lung disease. Tom’s short life expectancy weighs heavily upon him until a trip to the hospital introduces him to Xavier (Wouter Hendrickx), a CF patient with a much more optimistic outlook, and Eline (Anemone Valcke), a quirky girl under quarantine for an infection. These two boost Tom’s spirits tremendously, until the young man falls into a tailspin when his brother dies. But it turns out that a dose of friendship - and love - can work wonders, even if it isn’t a cure. As romantic and funny as it is heartbreaking, OXYGEN is a compelling drama about making the most of the time you have. Nominated by the European Film Academy for their European Discovery 2011 - Prix FIPRESCI Award. In Dutch with English subtitles.


Screening format: 35mm
Aero Theatre • Wed, Oct 19, 2011 • 7:30pm

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Wed, Jan 18, 2012 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Wed, Apr 20, 2011 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Wed, May 18, 2011 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Wed, Jun 15, 2011 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Wed, Jul 20, 2011 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Wed, Aug 17, 2011 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Wed, Sep 21, 2011 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Michael R. Roksam In Person!
Wed, Nov 16, 2011 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Wed, Dec 21, 2011 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre