We’re thrilled to announce a complete re-design of the American Cinematheque website. See The New Site Now >
Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Sun, Jun 9, 2013
7:30pm

THE GREAT MOVIES: A TRIBUTE TO ROGER EBERT
LA DOLCE VITA

"The movie is made with boundless energy." - Roger Ebert.

LA DOLCE VITA
1960, Paramount, 185 min, Italy, Dir: Federico Fellini

Director Federico Fellini feels his way from the neo-realist past to the illusory future in this incredible emotional travelogue of the soul of modern Rome. How better to open the free-wheeling 1960s than with this alternately funny, feral, sweet and seductive meditation on what is truly meaningful (if anything) for the dusk-to-dawn Italian jet set? Marcello Mastroianni was catapulted into superstar status as the sensitive tabloid reporter juggling the affections of several women (voluptuous movie star Anita Ekberg, icy mistress Anouk Aimee and neurotic girlfriend Magali Noel) while making the rounds of the spirit-destroying nightlife of the Via Veneto. Mastroianni’s scene with Ekberg in the Trevi Fountain at dawn remains one of the most timeless, memorable images ever to emerge from world cinema. "I feel that decadence is indispensable to rebirth." - Fellini. In Italian with English subtitles.


Screening format: DCP
Egyptian Theatre • Sun, Jun 9, 2013 • 7:30pm

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

70mm!
Fri, May 24, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, May 25, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Werner Herzog In Person!
Thu, Jun 6, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Jun 8, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Mon, May 20, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Jul 13, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
60th Anniversary!
Wed, Oct 9, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Oct 26, 2014 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre