Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Fri, Apr 1, 2011
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

NOIR CITY: HOLLYWOOD, 13TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
Rare Noir Preserved! Double Feature! New Prints!
HIGH WALL / STRANGERS IN THE NIGHT
Presented in collaboration with The Film Noir Foundation

The first night of Noir City: Hollywood 2011 begins with a bang! We'll screen a new 35mm print of HIGH WALL, resurrected by the Film Noir Foundation (special thanks to Warner Bros. and UCLA Film & Television Archive), and a new and restored print of STRANGERS IN THE NIGHT, restored by the UCLA Film & Television Archive, with preservation funded by Paramount Pictures.

New Print!

HIGH WALL
1947, MGM [Warner Bros.], 99 min, USA, Dir: Curtis Bernhardt

“So tense! So taut! It closes in on you like a high wall!” Quintessential postwar noir! Brain-damaged vet Robert Taylor confesses to murdering his unfaithful wife and is sentenced to a sanitarium. His doctor (sexy Audrey Totter) gradually realizes he might not be guilty. Taylor gives his best performance ever in this neglected gem, which combines a classic “wrong man” scenario with an intriguing take on the psychic scars suffered by wounded WWII veterans.


New, Restored Print!

STRANGERS IN THE NIGHT
1944, Republic [Paramount], 56 min, USA, Dir: Anthony Mann

A WWII veteran comes to a California town to meet the woman who was his cherished wartime pen pal. The girl’s peculiar mother claims she’s away - perhaps far, far away. This highly atmospheric, slightly daft B was the sixth low-budget wonder on the growing résumé of esteemed noir director (T-MEN, RAW DEAL), featuring a jaw-dropping performance by Austrian actress Helen Thimig. Not on DVD!


Screening formats: 35mm
Egyptian Theatre • Fri, Apr 1, 2011 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Sat, Apr 2, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 3, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 6, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 7, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 8, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 9, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 10, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 13, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 14, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Actress Jeanne Cooper In Person!
Fri, Apr 15, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Peter Ford In Person!
Sat, Apr 16, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
New Prints!
Sun, Apr 17, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 20, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre