Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Thu, Apr 3, 2014
7:30pm

NOIR CITY: HOLLYWOOD, 16TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
Hugo Fregonese Double Feature!
HARDLY A CRIMINAL / ONE WAY STREET
Presented by the American Cinematheque and the Film Noir Foundation
HARDLY A CRIMINAL
APENAS UN DELINCUENTE
1949, Film Noir Foundation, 88 min, Argentina, Dir: Hugo Fregonese

The best Argentine noir of the 1940s is an audacious blending of NAKED CITY and BRUTE FORCE, telling the tale of a clever bank clerk (Jorge Salcedo) who embezzles money and tries to get caught, since a loophole in the Argentine justice system will free him after six years in stir - when he intends to reclaim his stashed loot. Part caper, part prison picture, it earned Argentinean Hugo Fregonese a career in Hollywood. Noir chiaroscuro mixed with semi-documentary “neo-realism” presents an evocative vision of mid-century Buenos Aires, the Paris of the southern hemisphere.


ONE WAY STREET
1950, Universal, 79 min, USA, Dir: Hugo Fregonese

Even though he had just begun his American film career, James Mason already had his doomed-fugitive persona down pat in ODD MAN OUT and THE RECKLESS MOMENT. Here he’s a disillusioned doctor who feels responsible for his wife’s death and believes he’s only worthy of patching up wounded criminals. Deciding to take a gamble, he tricks Los Angeles gang boss Dan Duryea out of his latest haul, as well as absconding with Duryea’s more than willing moll, Marta Toren. The pair head for Mexico with the swag – but can they outrun Duryea’s seemingly limitless reach?


Screening format: 35mm
Egyptian Theatre • Thu, Apr 3, 2014 • 7:30pm

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Opening Night!
Fri, Mar 21, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Mar 22, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Mar 23, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Mar 26, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Mar 27, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Mar 28, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Mar 29, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Mar 30, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 2, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 4, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 5, 2014 - 7:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Newly Restored 35mm Prints! Discussion with Author Mary Ann Anderson!
Sun, Apr 6, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre