Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Wed, Apr 20, 2011
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

NOIR CITY: HOLLYWOOD, 13TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
"They’re Driving Me Crazy" Double Feature!
GASLIGHT / MY NAME IS JULIA ROSS
Presented in collaboration with The Film Noir Foundation
GASLIGHT
2011, MGM [Warner Bros.], 1944 min, Dir: George Cukor

Ingrid Bergman’s Oscar-winning performance dominates this Victorian-era thriller, one of the greatest suspense films ever made. After 10 years abroad, Paula Alquist (Bergman) returns with her groom (Charles Boyer) to the house where her aunt was murdered. The unsolved crime haunts her to the edge of madness. Nominated for all the major Oscars, including Best Picture, Actor, Supporting Actress and Screenplay, it remains a timeless touchstone of 1940s cinema.


MY NAME IS JULIA ROSS
1945, Columbia [Sony Repertory], 65 min, USA, Dir: Joseph H. Lewis

Unemployed Julia (Nina Foch) gets a dream job working for a wealthy widower, only to awaken in a nightmare - living with a schizo husband and a scheming mother-in-law (George Macready and Dame May Whitty), neither of whom she’s ever seen before! Director Joseph H. Lewis (GUN CRAZY, THE BIG COMBO) made his mark in Hollywood with this incredibly tense and well-acted mystery thriller, one of the best B films of the era. “She went to sleep as a secretary… and woke up as a madman’s bride!” Not on DVD!


Screening formats: 35mm
Egyptian Theatre • Wed, Apr 20, 2011 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

New Prints!
Fri, Apr 1, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 2, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 3, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 6, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 7, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 8, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 9, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 10, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 13, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 14, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Actress Jeanne Cooper In Person!
Fri, Apr 15, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Peter Ford In Person!
Sat, Apr 16, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
New Prints!
Sun, Apr 17, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre