Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Sat, Apr 16, 2011
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

NOIR CITY: HOLLYWOOD, 13TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
Tribute to Glenn Ford Double Feature! Peter Ford In Person!
FRAMED / MR. SOFT TOUCH

A Film Noir double feature of FRAMED and MR. SOFT TOUCH (neither of which are on DVD) starring Glenn Ford. Discussion between films with Peter Ford, with a book signing in the Egyptian lobby from 6:30 – 7:15 PM of Ford’s new book Glenn Ford: A Life.

Glenn Ford's son Peter Ford in person!
Not on DVD!

FRAMED
1947, Columbia [Sony Repertory], 82 min, USA, Dir: Richard Wallace

In this rarely seen piece of prime-grade pulp, taciturn Glenn Ford barrels his broken-down truck into a rural California town and is quickly engulfed in adultery, embezzlement and murder. Janis Carter is the long, tall drink of delicious poison he can’t resist, a frosty sample of pure ’40s film noir femme fatale. Barry Sullivan is his usual sly self as the not-so-unwilling cuckold. The script by Ben Maddow (THE ASPHALT JUNGLE) hits all the notes originated by James M. Cain, and director Richard Wallace has a good time playing them. Not on DVD!


Not on DVD!

MR. SOFT TOUCH
1949, Columbia [Sony Repertory], 93 min, USA, Dir: Henry Levin, Gordon Douglas

This ultra-rare comedy-noir hybrid features Glenn Ford as a returning WWII vet who knocks over the Frisco nightclub he used to own. When the gangster owners come gunning for him, Ford finds sanctuary by getting arrested for a misdemeanor - only to find himself back in hot water when he’s sprung by a do-gooder social worker (Evelyn Keyes) for the holidays. Directed by Henry Levin and Gordon Douglas, this is one of the oddest combinations we’ve ever seen: romantic comedy, schmaltzy sentiment and hardboiled noir. “In headlong flight he paused… to live a lifetime in 36 thrill-packed hours… with this woman!” Not on DVD!


Screening formats: 35mm
Egyptian Theatre • Sat, Apr 16, 2011 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

New Prints!
Fri, Apr 1, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 2, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 3, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 6, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 7, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 8, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 9, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 10, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 13, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 14, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Actress Jeanne Cooper In Person!
Fri, Apr 15, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
New Prints!
Sun, Apr 17, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 20, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre