Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Wed, Apr 13, 2011
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

NOIR CITY: HOLLYWOOD, 13TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
The Women Rule Tonight! Double Feature!
FEMALE ON THE BEACH / HAZARD
Presented in collaboration with The Film Noir Foundation
FEMALE ON THE BEACH
1955, Universal, 100 min, USA, Dir: Joseph Pevney

Joan gets wet! Moving into her late husband’s Balboa beach house after the previous tenant committed suicide, Joan Crawford finds her neighbors incredibly accommodating - especially the hunky beachcomber who becomes her lover (Jeff Chandler in his USDA prime). Sexual obsession, blackmail and murder are folded into a froth of suspicious neighbors (Jan Sterling!), hurled martini glasses, secret diaries and plenty of crashing surf. Perhaps the most perverse film of Crawford’s 1950s diva phase; certainly one of the best! “He was the kind of man that her kind of woman can’t leave alone!” Not on DVD!


New Print!

HAZARD
1948, Paramount [Universal], 95 min, USA, Dir: George Marshall

More a comedy-adventure than a straight noir, but we welcome any chance to see Paulette Goddard in her prime! She plays a gambler who antes herself up as the prize in a game against a professional card shark (Fred Clark). Upon losing, she takes it on the lam, pursued cross-country by a private dick (Macdonald Carey) hired to haul her back to the altar. Surrounded by a wonderful cast (Stanley Clements, Percy Helton, Frank Faylen, Taylor Holmes, Charles McGraw), Goddard shows why she was one of the most luminous and charismatic stars of Hollywood’s Golden Age. Not on DVD!


Screening formats: 35mm
Egyptian Theatre • Wed, Apr 13, 2011 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

New Prints!
Fri, Apr 1, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 2, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 3, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 6, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 7, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 8, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 9, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 10, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 14, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Actress Jeanne Cooper In Person!
Fri, Apr 15, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Peter Ford In Person!
Sat, Apr 16, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
New Prints!
Sun, Apr 17, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 20, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre