Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Mon, Apr 16, 2018
7:30pm

NOIR CITY: HOLLYWOOD - THE 20th ANNUAL LOS ANGELES FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
Double Feature!
DARK CITY / ARMORED CAR ROBBERY
Presented by the American Cinematheque and the Film Noir Foundation
Introduction by Alan K. Rode of the Film Noir Foundation.
35 mm!

DARK CITY (1950)
1950, Paramount, 98 min, USA, Dir: William Dieterle

The murder of a fellow grifter following a fixed poker game leads a small-time gambler (Charlton Heston, in his feature debut) to track down a psychopathic killer bent on revenge. The complex tale, ranging from Los Angeles to Las Vegas, is evocatively directed by William Dieterle (PORTRAIT OF JENNIE, THE HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME) and features film noir’s favorite throaty thrush, lovely Lizabeth Scott. Co-starring Viveca Lindfors, Dean Jagger, Don Defore, Ed Begley and Harry Morgan.


35 mm!

ARMORED CAR ROBBERY
1950, Warner Bros., 67 min, USA, Dir: Richard Fleischer

The ultimate B-movie caper, helmed by the late, great friend of the American Cinematheque, Richard Fleischer (THE NARROW MARGIN). The toughest mug in noir, Charles McGraw, plays the prototypical L.A. robbery-homicide dick matched against goggle-eyed heavy William Talman in the film noir equivalent of King Kong vs. Godzilla! With sultry Adele Jergens as a duplicitous burlesque queen, strutting her stuff through gritty downtown L.A. locations.


Egyptian Theatre • Mon, Apr 16, 2018 • 7:30pm

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Fri, Apr 13, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
James Ellroy In Person!
Sat, Apr 14, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 15, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Tue, Apr 17, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 18, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 19, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 20, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 21, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 22, 2018 - 4:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 22, 2018 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre