Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Sun, Apr 17, 2011
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

NOIR CITY: HOLLYWOOD, 13TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
More Pristine Preservations! New Prints!
CRY TOUGH / DOWN THREE DARK STREETS
Presented in collaboration with The Film Noir Foundation.

Both films will be presented in a brand new 35mm prints, funded by the Film Noir Foundation. Special thanks to MGM.

CRY TOUGH
1959, United Artists [MGM Repertory], 83 min, USA, Dir: Paul Stanley

This late entry in the noir cycle, based on Irving Shulman’s popular novel, explores social realism in the barrio and features a stunning performance by John Saxon as a Puerto Rican ex-con pulled every which way by familial pressures, a love affair (with beautiful co-star Linda Cristal) and the lure of his former gang. Not on DVD!


DOWN THREE DARK STREETS
1954, Park Circus/UA, 85 min, USA, Dir: Arnold Laven

Seeking to solve the murder of a colleague, G-man John Ripley (Broderick Crawford) doggedly tears into the dead agent’s last three cases, hoping to discover the killer. He uncovers a trifecta of female trouble (Ruth Roman, Martha Hyer and Marisa Pavan), all entangled in extortion and murder. Based on true FBI cases, the film benefits from fantastic Los Angeles location work, including one of the earliest (and best) uses of the famed Hollywood Sign.


Screening formats: 35mm
Egyptian Theatre • Sun, Apr 17, 2011 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

New Prints!
Fri, Apr 1, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 2, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 3, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 6, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 7, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 8, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 9, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 10, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 13, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 14, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Actress Jeanne Cooper In Person!
Fri, Apr 15, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Peter Ford In Person!
Sat, Apr 16, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 20, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre