Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Tue, Mar 28, 2017
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

NOIR CITY: FILM NOIR FESTIVAL 2017
70th Anniversary Double Feature!
CALCUTTA / BACKLASH
Presented by the American Cinematheque and Film Noir Foundation
Introduction by Alan K. Rode of the Film Noir Foundation.
New DCP! Never on DVD!

CALCUTTA
1947, Universal, 83 min, USA, Dir: John Farrow

Returned to the screen for the first time in decades, this long-lost noir stars real-life pals Alan Ladd and William Bendix as cargo pilots who seek revenge when their best buddy dies under suspicious circumstances. Gorgeous Gail Russell plays the dead man’s fiancée - but is she also the linchpin of an Asian smuggling ring? The sensational cinematography of John F. Seitz enhances the fantastic studio-bound exotica. One of the long-missing titles on the noir résumé of the great John Farrow (THE BIG CLOCK, ALIAS NICK BEAL).


Archival 35mm Print! Never on DVD!

BACKLASH
1947, 20th Century Fox, 66 min, USA, Dir: Eugene Forte

When a body is discovered in a burned-out car, the police have to ID the victim before they can hunt down the killer. This down-and-dirty B movie compresses a jailbreak, adultery and uxoricide into a breakneck story with a startling denouement. One of the best offerings from the redoubtable Sol Wetzel-helmed B unit at Fox. Starring Jean Rogers, Richard Travis, Larry J. Blake, John Eldredge and Robert Shayne. An ultra-rarity that can only be seen at NOIR CITY!


Egyptian Theatre • Tue, Mar 28, 2017 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Fri, Mar 24, 2017 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Mar 25, 2017 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Mar 26, 2017 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Mon, Mar 27, 2017 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Mar 29, 2017 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Mar 30, 2017 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Mar 31, 2017 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 1, 2017 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 2, 2017 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre