Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Thu, Mar 27, 2014
7:30pm

NOIR CITY: HOLLYWOOD, 16TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
Eleanor Parker Double Feature!
CAGED / DETECTIVE STORY
Presented by the American Cinematheque and the Film Noir Foundation
CAGED
1950, Warner Bros., 96 min, USA, Dir: John Cromwell

Flat-out the best “women behind bars” movie ever made. Sentenced to prison for her role in a failed robbery that killed her husband, vulnerable innocent Marie Allen (Oscar-nominated Eleanor Parker) undergoes a degrading transformation in “the joint.” Parker gives the performance of her career, supported by a cell block of sensational actresses: Agnes Moorehead, Hope Emerson, Betty Garde, Jan Sterling, Lee Patrick, Jane Darwell and many more. A classic!


DETECTIVE STORY
1951, Paramount, 103 min, USA, Dir: William Wyler

Eleanor Parker’s second Best Actress nomination in as many years is a memorable turn as the unfortunate wife of tormented NYPD detective Kirk Douglas in a splendid screen adaptation of Sidney Kingsley’s hit play. Powerfully helmed by William Wyler and nominated for four Academy Awards. Co-starring William Bendix, Lee Grant, George Macready, Cathy O’Donnell, Horace McMahon, Gladys George, Joseph Wiseman, Gerald Mohr and Frank Faylen.


Screening formats: 35mm (CAGED) and DCP (DETECTIVE STORY)
Egyptian Theatre • Thu, Mar 27, 2014 • 7:30pm

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Opening Night!
Fri, Mar 21, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Mar 22, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Mar 23, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Mar 26, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Mar 28, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Mar 29, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Mar 30, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 2, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 3, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 4, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 5, 2014 - 7:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Newly Restored 35mm Prints! Discussion with Author Mary Ann Anderson!
Sun, Apr 6, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre