Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Sat, Apr 2, 2011
7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

NOIR CITY: HOLLYWOOD, 13TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
Noir Behind Bars! Double Feature!
BRUTE FORCE / HOUSE OF NUMBERS
Presented in collaboration with The Film Noir Foundation
BRUTE FORCE
1947, Universal [Upcoast Film Consultants], 98 min, USA, Dir: Jules Dassin

Intense, violent and nihilistic in the extreme, this Mark Hellinger-produced prison drama may well be the bleakest, most despairing film noir of them all. Burt Lancaster plots a breakout for the inmates of Cell R-17 so they can escape the sadism of fascistic bully Hume Cronyn. The climactic bust-out remains a shocker, as the escape erupts into full-throttle warfare. Still the most unforgettable men-behind-bars movie ever made! “Men caged on the inside… Driven by the thought of their women on the loose!”


HOUSE OF NUMBERS
1957, MGM [Warner Bros.], 92 min, USA, Dir: Russell Rouse

What’s more ominous than a jugged Jack Palance doing hard time? How about Jack in a dual role as look-alike brothers … with Timothy Carey as a cellmate! In a clever twist, the Palance on the outside schemes to free his twin by breaking into maximum security! Ultra-rare noir directed on location at San Quentin by the always original Russell Rouse (DOA, NEW YORK CONFIDENTIAL, THE WELL). Not on DVD!


Screening formats: 35mm
Egyptian Theatre • Sat, Apr 2, 2011 • 7:30pm
Buy Tickets SHARE

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

New Prints!
Fri, Apr 1, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 3, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 6, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 7, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 8, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 9, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Apr 10, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 13, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 14, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Actress Jeanne Cooper In Person!
Fri, Apr 15, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Peter Ford In Person!
Sat, Apr 16, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
New Prints!
Sun, Apr 17, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 20, 2011 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre