Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Sat, Mar 22, 2014
7:30pm

NOIR CITY: HOLLYWOOD, 16TH ANNUAL FESTIVAL OF FILM NOIR
Joan Fontaine Double Feature!
BORN TO BE BAD / IVY
Presented by the American Cinematheque and the Film Noir Foundation
Introduction by Eddie Muller of the Film Noir Foundation.
BORN TO BE BAD
1950, Warner Bros., 94 min, USA, Dir: Nicholas Ray

Joan Fontaine looks sweet and innocent on the surface, but after she steals millionaire Zachary Scott away from another woman, she continues an illicit affair with novelist Robert Ryan. Things just get more complicated from there in this energetic, daring and slightly nasty little melodrama. One of Nicholas Ray's best early films, and certainly his most audacious until JOHNNY GUITAR. With Mel Ferrer - and the original deleted ending!


Ultra-Rare Screening!

IVY
1947, Universal, 99 min, USA, Dir: Sam Wood

Joan Fontaine memorably portrays an amoral Edwardian vixen whose hobby of seducing wayward men becomes the road to perdition. Fontaine’s tour de force performance occurred in a role originally intended for her sister Olivia de Havilland! A distinguished British cast includes Patric Knowles, Herbert Marshall and Sir Cedric Hardwicke. NOT ON DVD!


Screening format: 35mm | BORN TO BE BAD print from the collection of George Eastman House.
Egyptian Theatre • Sat, Mar 22, 2014 • 7:30pm

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

Opening Night!
Fri, Mar 21, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Mar 23, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Mar 26, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Mar 27, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Mar 28, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Mar 29, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Mar 30, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Wed, Apr 2, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Thu, Apr 3, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Apr 4, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Apr 5, 2014 - 7:00pm
Egyptian Theatre
Newly Restored 35mm Prints! Discussion with Author Mary Ann Anderson!
Sun, Apr 6, 2014 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre