We’re thrilled to announce a complete re-design of the American Cinematheque website. See The New Site Now >
Egyptian Theatre
6712 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, CA 90028 Map
Thu, Jun 6, 2013
7:30pm

THE GREAT MOVIES: A TRIBUTE TO ROGER EBERT
Werner Herzog In Person!
AGUIRRE, THE WRATH OF GOD
Discussion following with director Werner Herzog.
AGUIRRE, THE WRATH OF GOD
AGUIRRE, DER ZORN GOTTES
1972, Werner Herzog Film, 93 min, Germany, Dir: Werner Herzog

Klaus Kinski is Aguirre, a power-hungry lunatic who leads a Spanish military expedition down the Amazon in hopes of finding El Dorado, the legendary city of gold. From the opening images of conquistadors snaking their way through the jungle, director Werner Herzog’s epic achieves a rare, operatic delirium. Laced with surreal humor - “Spears are getting longer this year,” notes one skewered soldier - AGUIRRE is the first of the great Kinski -Herzog collaborations (the two reportedly met when their families shared a house together in Munich). With Helena Rojo, Del Negro. “One of the great haunting visions of the cinema” – Roger Ebert. English language version.


Screening format: DCP
Egyptian Theatre • Thu, Jun 6, 2013 • 7:30pm

Films in this Series at the Egyptian

70mm!
Fri, May 24, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, May 25, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sat, Jun 8, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Sun, Jun 9, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre
Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - 7:30pm
Egyptian Theatre

Films in this Series at the Aero

Mon, May 20, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sat, Jul 13, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
60th Anniversary!
Wed, Oct 9, 2013 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre
Sun, Oct 26, 2014 - 7:30pm
Aero Theatre