Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Buy Tickets SHARE

Series at the Aero Theatre in Santa Monica

Fri, Mar 1, 2019 - Wed, Mar 20, 2019

Kent Jones joins us in March with his new drama, DIANE, and his previous film, HITCHCOCK/TRUFFAUT. We salute that earlier documentary with a slate of programs pairing films by the two legendary directors including REAR WINDOW, SHOOT THE PIANO PLAYER, THE 39 STEPS and JULES AND JIM.


Fri, Feb 8, 2019 - Sun, Feb 10, 2019

Born in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Norman Jewison has been a vibrant force in the motion picture industry for five decades. The Oscar-nominated filmmaker joins us in person for a weekend retrospective that includes such favorites as romantic comedy MOONSTRUCK, political satire THE RUSSIANS ARE COMING! THE RUSSIANS ARE COMING! and musical FIDDLER ON THE ROOF.


Thu, Feb 7, 2019 - Sun, Mar 31, 2019

Co-presented by Luce Cinecittà
Born into the Italian aristocracy, Luchino Visconti was a master of both neorealism and lavish depictions of an aristocracy in decline. Our salute to the director includes such classics as THE LEOPARD, SENSO, ROCCO AND HIS BROTHERS and DEATH IN VENICE as well as rare prints from the archives of Luce Cinecittà in Rome.


Fri, Feb 1, 2019 - Sat, Feb 9, 2019

Though he's no stranger to TV or live-action, Brad Bird is the gold standard for animated films. Join us at the Aero for select highlights of his big-screen work, including acclaimed feature debut THE IRON GIANT, Oscar winner RATATOUILLE and the new INCREDIBLES 2.


Fri, Jan 18, 2019 - Sun, Jan 20, 2019

Iconoclastic filmmaker Jean-Luc Godard was the French New Wave’s most radical director in form; along with the exclusive Los Angeles run of his new THE IMAGE BOOK, we present a weekend of classics including ALPHAVILLE, CONTEMPT and LE PETIT SOLDAT.


Leon Vitali In Person!

Thu, Jan 10, 2019 - Sun, Jan 13, 2019

Leon Vitali was an actor in 1970s London when he was cast in Stanley Kubrick’s BARRY LYNDON, beginning a quarter-century collaboration with the director. Along with such classics as THE SHINING and FULL METAL JACKET, this weekend salute includes the new FILMWORKER documentary about Vitali.