Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Buy Tickets SHARE

Series at the Aero Theatre in Santa Monica

In Person Guests!

Sun, Dec 29, 2019 - Sat, Jan 4, 2020

Discover the best of contemporary world cinema during our week of special screenings of this year's Golden Globe Best Foreign-Language Film nominees: PAIN AND GLORY, THE FAREWELL, LES MISÉRABLES, PORTRAIT OF A LADY ON FIRE and PARASITE. Then join us for a FREE panel discussion with the directors of the five nominated films at the Egyptian Theatre on Saturday, January 4.


Thu, Dec 26, 2019 - Wed, Jan 1, 2020

The Cinematheque again caps off the year with some of the funniest and most sophisticated films ever to hit the big screen! Our screwball comedy series includes hilarious double features from stars Jean Arthur (MR. DEEDS GOES TO TOWN) and Irene Dunne (THE AWFUL TRUTH) and director Ernst Lubitsch (NINOTCHKA).


Wed, Dec 11, 2019 - Mon, Dec 23, 2019

This year's Holiday Spirit series features such seasonal classics as WHITE CHRISTMAS and IT’S A WONDERFUL LIFE; Cinematheque favorites AUNTIE MAME, ELF and DIE HARD; and other films with a Christmas connection including EYES WIDE SHUT and THE EXORCIST III.


Sun, Dec 8, 2019 - Thu, Dec 19, 2019

Terry Gilliam began his career as an animator with Monty Python that he would evolve into a world-class feature film director. In honor of his latest, long-awaited masterwork THE MAN WHO KILLED DON QUIXOTE, we present some of his films centering on knights errant and mythical characters, including THE ADVENTURES OF BARON MUNCHAUSEN and JABBERWOCKY.


Thu, Dec 5, 2019 - Wed, Dec 11, 2019

Exclusive Limited Engagement! Agnès Varda's final film, VARDA BY AGNÈS is a characteristically playful, profound, and personal summation of the director’s own brilliant career. At once impish and wise, she acts as our spirit guide on a free-associative tour through her six-decade artistic journey.


Tue, Dec 3, 2019 - Sat, Dec 21, 2019

The yuletide puts many in a festive mood but can inspire others to commit crimes – or to solve them. Join us as we explore the intersection of Christmas movies and film noir with hoilday-set favorites including THE THIN MAN and such rarely screened gems as THE RECKLESS MOMENT, BLAST OF SILENCE and BACKFIRE.