Aero Theatre
1328 Montana Avenue,
Santa Monica, CA 90403 Map
Buy Tickets SHARE

Series at the Aero Theatre in Santa Monica

Thu, May 31, 2018 - Sun, Jun 3, 2018

Join us for a weekend tribute to Czech animation master Jiří Trnka, pioneer of a remarkable new genre of animation that utilized puppets. Highlights from this touring program include such dazzling shorts as “The Hand” and fantastical features like THE EMPEROR’S NIGHTINGALE and A MIDSUMMER NIGHT’S DREAM.


Thu, May 24, 2018 - Sun, May 27, 2018

We remember editor Anne V. Coates (1925–2018) with a weekend engagement of LAWRENCE OF ARABIA, a sweeping epic of Arab infighting and British colonialism for which she won a Best Film Editing Oscar.


Tue, May 8, 2018 - Thu, May 10, 2018

Director Paul Schrader and star Ethan Hawke appear together for a Member screening of their new drama FIRST REFORMED, and individually for double features of such earlier favorites as AFFLICTION and BEFORE THE DEVIL KNOWS YOU'RE DEAD.


Fri, May 4, 2018 - Sun, May 20, 2018

We celebrate the centennial year of Ingmar Bergman with two weeks of programs featuring some of the legendary Swedish director's greatest films, including THE SEVENTH SEAL, PERSONA, THROUGH A GLASS DARKLY and CRIES AND WHISPERS.


Thu, May 3, 2018 - Wed, May 9, 2018

The fifth annual EU Film Festival spotlights festival award winners from Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Poland and Romania with a week of shorts and features.


Sun, Apr 22, 2018 - Sun, Aug 5, 2018

Our annual series with the Art Directors Guild Film Society highlights the work of renowned production designers and their creative collaborations. Running from April through August, the monthly series includes screenings of such visually distinctive films as GRAND HOTEL, THE CONFORMIST, PLANET OF THE APES and SPACEHUNTER: ADVENTURES IN THE FORBIDDEN ZONE.